How did Frederick Douglas works inspire the Civil Rights Movement?

To begin with Fredrick Douglas was born in a slave cabin, in February, 1818, near the town of Easton, on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. Separted from his mother when only a few weeks old he was raised by his grandparents. At the age of six, his grandmother took him to the plantation  of his master and left him there.(www.frederickdouglass.org/douglass_bio.html)

While I was reading his works like “From My Bondage and My Freedom” and  “What to the slave is the Fourth of July” I picked up the sense that he influenced the leaders of the civil rights with his stand up guy mentality. Although he lived long enough to see slavery end in the year 1865 I am pretty sure he didn’t wanted just to end there. In his work “From My Bondage and My Freedom” he talks about how he didn’t even know he was a slave and why his people didn’t get treated equally and wasn’t able to learn how to read and write like the white society.

A event that probaly influenced some of the civil rights leaders was when Frederick Douglass went against a slavebreaker named Edward Covey. Although in a fight no one wins people can say that Frederick Douglass won because of his sense of self worth. Martin Luther King jr and Frederick Douglass had similar things with each other. Both were great speakers and leaders.Martin Luther King jr “I Have a Dream” and Frederick Douglass “Fourth of July” speech each had a effect on people during their eras.

My Favorite Frederick Douglass Quotes:

I didn’t know I was a slave until I found out I couldn’t do the things I wanted.
Frederick Douglass 

I prayed for twenty years but received no answer until I prayed with my legs.
Frederick Douglass

I prefer to be true to myself, even at the hazard of incurring the ridicule of others, rather than to be false, and to incur my own abhorrence. Frederick Douglass

Read more: http://www.brainyquote.com/quotes/authors/f/frederick_douglass.html#ixzz1oO6vZbai

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

